top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCatherine Cavallo

Crepes and Bakes by Hannah

Hannah Gonzalez-Chavez decided to leave her teaching career behind and stay at home with her growing family when she found out she was pregnant with her fourth child. Two years later, Gonzalez-Chavez has gained the financial freedom she hoped for through her new business venture, Crepes and Bakes by Hannah, a bakery she runs from her kitchen.

When Gonzalez-Chavez made the decision to leave the classroom, she knew she had to find a way to contribute to her family’s income while at home.


“I was trying a lot of different options of part-time work that would actually require me to leave home for part of the day,” Gonzalez-Chavez said. “When I was trying to think of something that I could create from home, I thought back to things I learned over the years and I’ve always baked.”


Gonzalez-Chavez gave herself two months to see if she could make a business out of her passion for baking.


She started off making scones, breads, and other kinds of baked goods and eventually ventured into customized cakes and cookies after realizing that was what people wanted.


Having no idea how to decorate a cake, Gonzalez-Chavez logged into YouTube for a full crash-course on decorating.

“I just started watching video after video and through trial and error I learned how to decorate especially cakes,” Gonzalez-Chavez said.


Since Gonzalez-Chavez bakes from her kitchen, she has the time to sit down with her customers and hear their design ideas.


“I have the unique touch that I’ll work with someone on what kind of design they want. I don’t have too many limitations,” Gonzalez- Chavez said. “I’ll try new things with them and help create a design that they really love.”


Gonzalez-Chavez says the most rewarding thing about having her own business is the freedom she has to make her own schedule and the creative outlet baking offers her while being a mom at home.

To place an order with Crepes and Bakes by Hannah visit:


Or

400 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page